⭐ We have a different website for our Ohio bookstore + cafe! Visit it here. ⭐

Award Winners - - Items tagged as "Male protagonist"

Two Dollar Radio Books Too Loud To Ignore script

As a boutique press, Two Dollar Radio publishes bold works of literary merit, each book, individually and collectively, providing a sonic progression that we believe to be too loud to ignore.
The latest and greatest from Two Dollar Radio! Books are shown in 'newest to oldest' view, which you can change with the Sort option below.

  • A History of My Brief Body QUICK VIEW A History of My Brief Body a collection of essays by
    Billy-Ray Belcourt

    A Best Book of 2020
    Lambda Literary Award Finalist

    "[Belcourt] ably balances poetic, philosophical, and political insights throughout this unique book... An urgently needed, unyielding book of theoretical and intimate strength."
    Kirkus Reviews, starred


    For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.

    A History of My Brief Body

    a collection of essays by
    Billy-Ray Belcourt


    $ 9.99 $ 10.99
    View full product details →

    * A Best Book of 2020 —Kirkus Reviews, Book Riot, CBC, Globe and Mail, Largehearted Boy.

    "In sharp pieces infused with a yearning for decolonized love and freedom, Belcourt, of the Driftpile Cree Nation, ably balances poetic, philosophical, and political insights throughout this unique book... An urgently needed, unyielding book of theoretical and intimate strength."
    Kirkus Reviews, starred review

    The youngest ever winner of the Griffin Prize mines his personal history in a brilliant new essay collection seeking to reconcile the world he was born into with the world that could be.

    For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.

    Billy-Ray Belcourt’s debut memoir opens with a tender letter to his kokum and memories of his early life in the hamlet of Joussard, Alberta, and on the Driftpile First Nation. Piece by piece, Billy-Ray’s writings invite us to unpack and explore the big and broken world he inhabits every day, in all its complexity and contradiction: a legacy of colonial violence and the joy that flourishes in spite of it; first loves and first loves lost; sexual exploration and intimacy; the act of writing as a survival instinct and a way to grieve. What emerges is not only a profound meditation on memory, gender, anger, shame, and ecstasy, but also the outline of a way forward. With startling honesty, and in a voice distinctly and assuredly his own, Belcourt situates his life experiences within a constellation of seminal queer texts, among which this book is sure to earn its place.

    Eye-opening, intensely emotional, and excessively quotable, A History of My Brief Body demonstrates over and over again the power of words to both devastate and console us.

  • White Dialogues QUICK VIEW White Dialogues a story collection by
    Bennett Sims

    A Best Book of 2017
    Winner: The Rome Prize for Literature

    “Anyone who admires such pyrotechnics of language will find 21st-century echoes of Edgar Allan Poe in Sims’s portraits of paranoia and delusion, with their zodiacal narrowing and the maddening tungsten spin of their narratives.”
    New York Times Book Review

    The debut collection of phantasmagorical stories from award-winning novelist, Bennett Sims.

    White Dialogues

    a story collection by
    Bennett Sims


    $ 11.99 $ 15.99
    View full product details →

    *Winner of the Rome Prize for Literature 2018-19

    With all the brilliance, bravado, and wit of his award-winning debut, A Questionable Shape, Bennett Sims returns with an equally ambitious and wide-ranging collection of stories.

    A house-sitter alone in a cabin in the woods comes to suspect that the cabin may need to be “unghosted.” A raconteur watches as his personal story is rewritten on an episode of This American Life. And in the collection’s title story, a Hitchcock scholar sitting in on a Vertigo lecture is gradually driven mad by his own theory of cinema.

    In these eleven stories, Sims moves from slow-burn psychological horror to playful comedy, bringing us into the minds of people who are haunted by their environments, obsessions, and doubts. Told in electric, insightful prose, White Dialogues is a profound exploration of the way we uncover meaning in a complex, and sometimes terrifying, world. It showcases Sims’s rare talent and confirms his reputation as one of the most exciting young writers at work today.

  • The Drop Edge of Yonder QUICK VIEW The Drop Edge of Yonder a novel by
    Rudolph Wurlitzer

    A Best Book of 2008
    Winner: Foreword Reviews Gold Medal for Literary Fiction

    "The most hallucinogenic western you'll ever catch in the movie house of your mind's eye."
    Bookforum

    Rudolph Wurlitzer’s first novel in nearly 25 years is an epic adventure that explores the truth and temptations of the American myth.

    The Drop Edge of Yonder

    a novel by
    Rudolph Wurlitzer


    $ 11.99 $ 15.99
    View full product details →
  • A Questionable Shape QUICK VIEW A Questionable Shape a novel by
    Bennett Sims

    A Best Book of 2013
    Winner: Bard Fiction Prize
    The Believer Book Award Finalist

    "[A Questionable Shape] is more than just a novel. It is literature. It is life."
    —Susan Hazen-Hammond, The Millions

    A calculated postmodern zombie novel by one of America's brightest new literary talents.

    A Questionable Shape

    a novel by
    Bennett Sims


    $ 12.38 $ 16.50
    View full product details →

    *Winner of the Rome Prize for Literature 2018-19
    *Bard Fiction Prize 2014
    *The Believer Book Award Finalist
    *One of the Best Books of 2013Complex Magazine, Book Riot, Slate, The L Magazine, NPR's 'On Point', Salon

    Mazoch discovers an unreturned movie envelope, smashed windows, and a pool of blood in his father’s house: the man has gone missing. So he creates a list of his father’s haunts and asks Vermaelen to help track him down. 

    However, hurricane season looms over Baton Rouge, threatening to wipe out any undead not already contained and eliminate all hope of ever finding Mazoch’s father. 

    Bennett Sims turns typical zombie fare on its head to deliver a wise and philosophical rumination on the nature of memory and loss.

  • Mira Corpora QUICK VIEW Mira Corpora a novel by
    Jeff Jackson

    A Best Book of 2013
    L.A. Times Book Prize Finalist

    "A piercing howl of a book."
    Slate

    A story of redemption in the face of nightmarish odds.

    Mira Corpora

    a novel by
    Jeff Jackson


    $ 12.00 $ 16.00
    View full product details →
  • The Correspondence Artist QUICK VIEW The Correspondence Artist a novel by
    Barbara Browning

    Winner: Lambda Literary Award

    "A deft look at modern life that's both witty and devastating."
    Nylon


    Sure to delight fans of Chris Krause and Charlie Kaufman.

    The Correspondence Artist

    a novel by
    Barbara Browning


    $ 8.99 $ 9.99
    View full product details →

    *Lambda Literary Award Winner

    In The Correspondence Artist, an unremarkable woman has been carrying on with an internationally recognized artist, largely via e-mail. To protect her paramour's identity, she creates a series of correspondent, alternative lovers in a self-destructing roman à clef.

Hi there!

Two Dollar Radio is a family-run outfit founded in 2005 with the mission to reaffirm the cultural and artistic spirit of the publishing industry. We aim to do this by presenting bold works of literary merit, each book, individually and collectively, providing a sonic progression that we believe to be too loud to ignore. Check out the ABOUT US section to read more...

Radio Waves daily blog by Two Dollar Radio indie book publisher

Latest posts

  • Q+A with Kevin Maloney about The Red-Headed Pilgrim

    I first encountered Kevin Maloney’s writing after picking up his novella The Cult of Loretta at an AWP conference several years ago, probably in Los Angeles. The prose was vibrant and hilarious and pulsed on the page; I remember tearing... Read more →

  • Q+A with John Elizabeth Stintzi about My Volcano

    On March 22, 2022, we are publishing a wild, fearless novel called My Volcano by John Elizabeth Stintzi. A kaleidoscopic portrait of a menagerie of characters, as they each undergo personal eruptions, while the Earth itself is constantly shifting, My Volcano... Read more →

  • Q+A with Ella Baxter about New Animal

    We literally could not be more excited to be publishing Ella Baxter's uproarious and powerfully moving debut novel New Animal in the United States and Canada on February 15, 2022. Originally pitched to us as "Fleabag meets Six Feet Under,"... Read more →