The Drop Edge of Yonder, by Rudolph Wurlitzer (Two Dollar Radio)

1st Printing Features: Trade paper

The Drop Edge of Yonder

a novel by
Rudolph Wurlitzer


$ 11.99 $ 15.99

ABOUT


*Time Out New York's #1 Best Book of 2008
*ForeWord Magazine Gold Medal for Literary Fiction

"There's a bawdy, lunatic thrill to the tale that seems somehow radical. It's the kind of book someone will stick in a back pocket before heading out on the trail into the unknown."
LA Weekly


Synopsis

Rudolph Wurlitzer’s first novel in nearly 25 years is an epic adventure that explores the truth and temptations of the American myth.

Beginning in the savage wilds of Colorado in the waning days of the fur trade, the story follows Zebulon Shook, a mountain man who has a curse placed on him by a mysterious Native American woman whose lover he murdered, to “drift like a blind man between the worlds, not knowing if you’re dead or alive, of if the unseen world exists, or if you’re dreaming.” Zebulon sets out on the trail from Colorado, venturing to the remote reaches of the Northwest, a journey that traverses the Gulf of Mexico to Panama, and up the coast of California to San Francisco and the gold fields, bringing him face-to-face with mystics and outlaws, politically-minded prison wardens and Russian Counts, each hungry to stake their claim on the American dream.

A novel of breathtaking scope and beauty, The Drop Edge of Yonder reveals one of America’s most transcendant writers at the top of his form.



The Drop Edge of Yonder by Rudolph Wurlitzer =

The Drop Edge of Yonder by Rudolph Wurlitzer = David Lynch + Nick Cave + Franz Kafka

* In most cases, none of these writers endorse this book. Our math formulas are supposed to be amusing anecdotes, similar to shelf-talkers in bookstores that say "If you like X, you might enjoy Y," or "This Book is like Cormac McCarthy writing an episode of Saved by the Bell with a soundtrack by Philip Glass."

Reviews

"A picaresque American Book of the Dead... in the tradition of Thomas Pynchon, Joseph Heller, Kurt Vonnegut and Terry Southern."
David Ulin, Los Angeles Times

"[A] funny, inquisitive novel [that] asks readers to re-examine their ideas of the Western frontier and personal freedom."
Wall Street Journal

"There's a bawdy, lunatic thrill to the tale that seems somehow radical. It's the kind of book someone will stick in a back pocket before heading out on the trail into the unknown."
LA Weekly

"Wurlitzer delivers a mystic Western possessed of anarchic charms and incantatory beauty. This furiously told legend weaves history and myth into a riotous tale."
Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"The most hallucinogenic Western you'll ever catch in the movie house of your mind's eye. What results is a genre farce with oracular powera Queen of Hearts sutra, a court jester's Blood Meridian. With Drop Edge, Wurlitzer has considerably raised the stakes."
Bookforum

"Drop Edge occupies a space between the whimsical and the mystical, the silly and the sublime. Wurlitzer’s philosophical, humorous, and visionary yarn guides the reader into a landscape in which to wander around and get lost, a West that leads into the numinous terra incognita between sleep and waking, life and death, and toward the contemplation of what it means to cross a frontier."
LA CityBeat

"In his hero, Zebulon Shook, Wurlitzer has invented a funny, acerbic, hugely compelling representative of American heroism. This is that rare story that improves as it expands, not unlike another rambling picaresque, Don Quixote."
Washington City Paper

"Wurlitzer's most satisfying read to date... should be as well known as anything by Cormac McCarthy, Steve Erickson, or Jim Harrison. A pure blast of vituoso storytelling. [Drop Edge] is a book that shows us our own reflection at this exact moment in our historyAmerica as a flailing, undomesticated, wild-eyed, hairy brawler, with a big, confused heart in rebellion against the coarse exigencies of existence and civilization."
Barnes & Noble Review

"An epic Western and a summation of all that's great about Wurlitzer's novels and film scripts... an old hand laying down what may well be the best piece of writing he's ever done."
Arthur Magazine

"Mesmerizing. A Western as Celine might have written one."
Times Literary Supplement of London

"The Drop Edge of Yonder, Wurlitzer's first novel in 24 years, is his best to date. It's the rare book that possesses not just big ideas, but the daring cleverness to pull them off."
Time Out New York 

"An epic Western that merges the unique narrative invention of [Wurlitzer's] early novels with the cinematic drift of his best scripts."
Dazed & Confused

"[A] psychedelic adventure... Ruminative and rip-roaring at once."
Entertainment Weekly

"[Wurlitzer's] vivid language has a poetic, almost magical, intensity. An atmospheric work that fuses the road novel and the Western. [A] Western [that] beautifully captures the glimmering maya of a gold-and-gun-and-sex-crazed frontier."
The Brooklyn Rail 

"Simply the most wonderful book I have read all year."
Largehearted Boy

"Wurlitzer opens up his cold-blooded prose veins with the blade of the Western genre, and something sinister and mystically unsettling gushes out."
Baltimore City Paper

Author

Author Rudolph Wurlitzer

Rudolph Wurlitzer is the author of the novels Nog, FlatsQuake, and Slow Fade, and a non-fiction book, Hard Travel to Sacred Places. He has written numerous screenplays, including Pat Garrett and Billy the KidTwo Lane Blacktop, and Walker. Wurlitzer wrote the librettos to two Philip Glass operas, In the Penal Colony and The Perfect American, and co-directed the film Candy Mountain with Robert Frank.

Sneak Peek

Enjoy a sneak peek read of The Drop Edge of Yonder here, on Issuu, and get a serious look inside the book:

 

Info

LIST PRICE: $15.99
PAGES: 252
PRINT ISBN: 9781937512613
DIGITAL ISBN: 9781937512620
RELEASE DATE: 3/14/2017
AUDIO BOOK: Audible.com offers the audio version of The Drop Edge of Yonder
FOREIGN LANGUAGE:
Christian Bourgois Editeur (French) version of The Drop Edge of Yonder (Zebulon)
Residenz Verlag (German) version of The Drop Edge of Yonder (Zebulon)
Tropo Editores (Spanish) version of The Drop Edge of Yonder

This edition printed in Canada by Marquis, with the following environmental statement:
*Inside printed on Enviro 100% post-consumer EcoLogo certified paper, processed chlorine free and manufactured using biogas energy.
*FSC certified paper (inside and cover).

Save

Hi there!

Two Dollar Radio is a family-run outfit founded in 2005 with the mission to reaffirm the cultural and artistic spirit of the publishing industry. We aim to do this by presenting bold works of literary merit, each book, individually and collectively, providing a sonic progression that we believe to be too loud to ignore. Check out the ABOUT US section to read more...

Radio Waves daily blog by Two Dollar Radio indie book publisher

Latest posts

  • Design of the Week | Disorder Press

    Being an indie-pub can be a tough, but exponentially rewarding gig. I thought it would be nice to give a shoutout to the hot upcoming publisher on the scene, Disorder Press—a sibling owned literary press based out of New Orleans and... Read more →

  • The Wire | J.D. Wilkes on Paducah Life

    J.T. Crawford at Paducah Life Magazine recently did a feature on the Kentucky Colonel himself, J.D. Wilkes, in lieu of his debut novel The Vine Ate The South. Wilkes is full of poetry during the interview, including this unforgettable line: "It's... Read more →

  • On the Dial | Ann Arbor Film Festival

    The 55th Annual Ann Arbor Film Festival kicks off tomorrow. 55 years is a long time to be running a film festival, let alone anything. Check out the history of the prestigious fest in their own words: The Ann Arbor Film... Read more →