New Releases - - Items tagged as "Memoir"

Two Dollar Radio Books Too Loud To Ignore script

As a boutique press, Two Dollar Radio publishes bold works of literary merit, each book, individually and collectively, providing a sonic progression that we believe to be too loud to ignore.
The latest and greatest from Two Dollar Radio! Books are shown in 'newest to oldest' view, which you can change with the Sort option below.

  • A History of My Brief Body QUICK VIEW A History of My Brief Body a collection of essays by
    Billy-Ray Belcourt

    July 2020!

    "[Belcourt] ably balances poetic, philosophical, and political insights throughout this unique book... An urgently needed, unyielding book of theoretical and intimate strength."
    Kirkus Reviews, starred


    For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.

    A History of My Brief Body

    a collection of essays by
    Billy-Ray Belcourt


    $ 9.99 $ 10.99
    View full product details →

    "In sharp pieces infused with a yearning for decolonized love and freedom, Belcourt, of the Driftpile Cree Nation, ably balances poetic, philosophical, and political insights throughout this unique book... An urgently needed, unyielding book of theoretical and intimate strength."
    Kirkus Reviews, starred review

    The youngest ever winner of the Griffin Prize mines his personal history in a brilliant new essay collection seeking to reconcile the world he was born into with the world that could be.

    For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.

    Billy-Ray Belcourt’s debut memoir opens with a tender letter to his kokum and memories of his early life in the hamlet of Joussard, Alberta, and on the Driftpile First Nation. Piece by piece, Billy-Ray’s writings invite us to unpack and explore the big and broken world he inhabits every day, in all its complexity and contradiction: a legacy of colonial violence and the joy that flourishes in spite of it; first loves and first loves lost; sexual exploration and intimacy; the act of writing as a survival instinct and a way to grieve. What emerges is not only a profound meditation on memory, gender, anger, shame, and ecstasy, but also the outline of a way forward. With startling honesty, and in a voice distinctly and assuredly his own, Belcourt situates his life experiences within a constellation of seminal queer texts, among which this book is sure to earn its place.

    Eye-opening, intensely emotional, and excessively quotable, A History of My Brief Body demonstrates over and over again the power of words to both devastate and console us.

  • Some of Us Are Very Hungry Now QUICK VIEW Some of Us Are Very Hungry Now a collection of essays by
    Andre Perry

    A Best Book of 2019
    "A complete, deep, satisfying read... The variety of structures, formats, and rhythms Perry uses in Some of Us Are Very Hungry Now is extraordinary."
    —Gabino Iglesias, NPR

    The essays in Some of Us Are Very Hungry Now take the form of personal reflection, multiple choice questions, screenplays, and imagined talk-show conversations, while traversing the daily minefield of a childhood schoolyard to dimly-lit late nights in Midwestern bars. The impression of Perry’s personal journey is arresting and beguiling, while announcing the author’s arrival as a formidable American voice.

    Some of Us Are Very Hungry Now

    a collection of essays by
    Andre Perry


    $ 11.99 $ 15.99
    View full product details →

    *A Best Book of 2019 Pop Matters
    *A Most Anticipated Book of 2019 LitReactorThe A.V. Club, Big Other

    "A complete, deep, satisfying read... The variety of structures, formats, and rhythms Perry uses in Some of Us Are Very Hungry Now is extraordinary... These essays shine with broken humanity and announce the arrival of a new voice in contemporary nonfiction, but they do so with heaps of melancholia and frustration instead of answers. That Perry can hurt us and keep us asking for more is a testament to his talent as a storyteller."
    —Gabino Iglesias, NPR

    With luminous insight and fervent prose, Andre Perry’s debut collection of personal essays travels from Washington DC to Iowa City to Hong Kong in search of both individual and national identity. While displaying tenderness and a disarming honesty, Perry catalogues racial degradations committed on the campuses of elite universities to liberal bastions like San Francisco while coming of age in America.

    The essays in Some of Us Are Very Hungry Now take the form of personal reflection, multiple choice questions, screenplays, and imagined talk-show conversations, while traversing the daily minefield of a childhood schoolyard to dimly-lit late nights in Midwestern bars. The impression of Perry’s personal journey is arresting and beguiling, while announcing the author’s arrival as a formidable and ferocious American voice.

  • Savage Gods QUICK VIEW Savage Gods a book by
    Paul Kingsnorth

    A Best Book of 2019
    "A beautiful, intelligent, extremely poetic book about a writer dissecting his thoughts and feelings on the page without the protective layer of fiction."
    —Gabino Iglesias, NPR

    Informed by Kingsnorth's experiences interacting with indigenous peoples, the writings of D.H. Lawrence and Annie Dillard, and the day-to-day travails of farming his own land, Savage Gods seeks nothing less than to dismantle modern civilization.

    Savage Gods

    a book by
    Paul Kingsnorth


    $ 10.99 $ 14.99
    View full product details →

    "Savage Gods is a beautiful, intelligent, extremely poetic book about a writer dissecting his thoughts and feelings on the page without the protective layer of fiction."
    —Gabino Iglesias, NPR

    After moving with his wife and two children to a smallholding in Ireland, Paul Kingsnorth expects to find contentment. It is the goal he has sought — to nest, to find home — after years of rootlessness as an environmental activist and author. Instead he finds that his tools as a writer are failing him, calling into question his foundational beliefs about language and setting him at odds with culture itself.

    Informed by his experiences with indigenous peoples, the writings of D.H. Lawrence and Annie Dillard, and the day-to-day travails of farming his own land, Savage Gods asks: what does it mean to belong? What sacrifices must be made in order to truly inhabit a life? And can words ever paint the truth of the world — or are they part of the great lie which is killing it?

Hi there!

Two Dollar Radio is a family-run outfit founded in 2005 with the mission to reaffirm the cultural and artistic spirit of the publishing industry. We aim to do this by presenting bold works of literary merit, each book, individually and collectively, providing a sonic progression that we believe to be too loud to ignore. Check out the ABOUT US section to read more...

Radio Waves daily blog by Two Dollar Radio indie book publisher

Latest posts

  • Design of the Week | Skateboard Master

    Hello darkness, my old friends. It's me, Brett, again. Hope you all are taking time to discover your new favorite skateboarder, because I sure have. Pause your zoom chat and watch the pure magic of Isamu Yamamoto freestyle skateboarding like a pavement... Read more →

  • Q+A with Dima Alzayat about Alligator and Other Stories

    We're excited to publish Alligator and Other Stories by Dima Alzayat on May 29, 2020. The award-winning stories in Dima Alzayat’s collection are luminous and tender, whether dealing with a woman performing burial rites for her brother in “Ghusl,” or a... Read more →

  • On the Dial | Perfume Genius

    The first time I listened to Perfume Genius was in 2015, at his concert with Jenny Hval at the Wexner Center. My friend Ryan invited me. We met a few weeks prior and quickly became inseparable. I did, and still do,... Read more →