Coming Soon - - Items tagged as "Male protagonist"

Frequencies Books too loud to ignore

Forthcoming books. Check out what Two Dollar Radio has coming up next!
Click on each title to view release dates, download a Reader Guide, read from a sneak peek, and more!

For booksellers, librarians, academics, reviewers, and for rights queries, please request an advance reading copy by using the "Click to request an ARC" button on each title's page, or go directly to the Contact form here.

  • Whiteout Conditions (PREORDER) QUICK VIEW Whiteout Conditions (PREORDER) a novel by
    Tariq Shah

    March 2020!

    Buzzfeed's "Most Highly Anticipated Books Of 2020"


    With a poet’s sensibility, Shah navigates the murky responsibilities of adulthood, grief, toxic masculinity, and the tragedy of revenge in this haunting Midwestern noir. Coming Soon!

    Whiteout Conditions (PREORDER)

    a novel by
    Tariq Shah


    $ 12.74 $ 16.99
    View full product details →

    Buzzfeed "Most Highly Anticipated Books Of 2020"

    Ant is back in Chicago for a funeral, and he typically enjoys funerals. Since most of his family has passed away, he finds himself strangely attracted to their endearing qualities: the hyperbolic language, the stoner altar boy, seeing friends in suits for the first time. That is, until the tragic death of Ray—Ant’s childhood friend, Vince’s teenage cousin. Ray was the younger third-wheel that Ant and Victor were stuck babysitting while in high school, and his sudden death makes national news.

    In the depths of a brutal Midwest winter, Ant rides with Vince through the falling snow to Ray’s funeral, an event that has been accruing a sense of consequence. With a poet’s sensibility, Shah navigates the murky responsibilities of adulthood, grief, toxic masculinity, and the tragedy of revenge in this haunting Midwestern noir.

  • A History of My Brief Body (PREORDER) QUICK VIEW A History of My Brief Body (PREORDER) a collection of essays by
    Billy-Ray Belcourt

    July 2020!

    Billy-Ray Belcourt uses a dexterity of language and form as a container for memory and nostalgia as vehicles for truth about a still-blooming present."
    —Hanif Abdurraqib


    For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.

    Coming Soon!

    A History of My Brief Body (PREORDER)

    a collection of essays by
    Billy-Ray Belcourt


    $ 11.99 $ 15.99
    View full product details →

    "The urgent, fresh voice of his generation." —Paula Simons, Edmonton Journal

    The youngest ever winner of the Griffin Prize mines his personal history in a brilliant new essay collection seeking to reconcile the world he was born into with the world that could be.

    For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.

    Billy-Ray Belcourt’s debut memoir opens with a tender letter to his kokum and memories of his early life in the hamlet of Joussard, Alberta, and on the Driftpile First Nation. Piece by piece, Billy-Ray’s writings invite us to unpack and explore the big and broken world he inhabits every day, in all its complexity and contradiction: a legacy of colonial violence and the joy that flourishes in spite of it; first loves and first loves lost; sexual exploration and intimacy; the act of writing as a survival instinct and a way to grieve. What emerges is not only a profound meditation on memory, gender, anger, shame, and ecstasy, but also the outline of a way forward. With startling honesty, and in a voice distinctly and assuredly his own, Belcourt situates his life experiences within a constellation of seminal queer texts, among which this book is sure to earn its place.

    Eye-opening, intensely emotional, and excessively quotable, A History of My Brief Body demonstrates over and over again the power of words to both devastate and console us.

Hi there!

Two Dollar Radio is a family-run outfit founded in 2005 with the mission to reaffirm the cultural and artistic spirit of the publishing industry. We aim to do this by presenting bold works of literary merit, each book, individually and collectively, providing a sonic progression that we believe to be too loud to ignore. Check out the ABOUT US section to read more...

Radio Waves daily blog by Two Dollar Radio indie book publisher

Latest posts

  • Q+A with Masande Ntshanga about Triangulum

    It was our great pleasure and privilege to publish in North America the debut novel by Masande Ntshanga, The Reactive, in 2016. Selected for inclusion in Poets & Writers 'First Fiction' annual, which profiles debut novelists, the author Naomi Jackson... Read more →

  • The Death Rattle of Culture | 1/18/19

    Toto's 'Africa' Is Playing On Repeat In A Desert... forever   Clemson won the National Championship and in true Sports Mom™ fashion, Trump got them McDonald's   Steph Curry (jokingly) said the moon landing was fake so NASA invited him... Read more →

  • Design of the Week | Tierra Whack

    15 songs in 15 minutes. Tierra Whack's album Whack World is a whirlwind of musical genres ranging from soul to trap to southern. Despite the brevity of each song, Tierra Whack delivers in full. According to Spotify, Whack World was one... Read more →