Coming Soon - - Items tagged as "Creative nonfiction"

Frequencies Books too loud to ignore

Forthcoming books. Check out what Two Dollar Radio has coming up next!
Click on each title to view release dates, download a Reader Guide, read from a sneak peek, and more!

For booksellers, librarians, academics, reviewers, and for rights queries, please request an advance reading copy by using the "Click to request an ARC" button on each title's page, or go directly to the Contact form here.

  • A History of My Brief Body (PREORDER) QUICK VIEW A History of My Brief Body (PREORDER) a collection of essays by
    Billy-Ray Belcourt

    July 2020!

    Billy-Ray Belcourt uses a dexterity of language and form as a container for memory and nostalgia as vehicles for truth about a still-blooming present."
    —Hanif Abdurraqib


    For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.

    Coming Soon!

    A History of My Brief Body (PREORDER)

    a collection of essays by
    Billy-Ray Belcourt


    $ 11.99 $ 15.99
    View full product details →

    "The urgent, fresh voice of his generation." —Paula Simons, Edmonton Journal

    The youngest ever winner of the Griffin Prize mines his personal history in a brilliant new essay collection seeking to reconcile the world he was born into with the world that could be.

    For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.

    Billy-Ray Belcourt’s debut memoir opens with a tender letter to his kokum and memories of his early life in the hamlet of Joussard, Alberta, and on the Driftpile First Nation. Piece by piece, Billy-Ray’s writings invite us to unpack and explore the big and broken world he inhabits every day, in all its complexity and contradiction: a legacy of colonial violence and the joy that flourishes in spite of it; first loves and first loves lost; sexual exploration and intimacy; the act of writing as a survival instinct and a way to grieve. What emerges is not only a profound meditation on memory, gender, anger, shame, and ecstasy, but also the outline of a way forward. With startling honesty, and in a voice distinctly and assuredly his own, Belcourt situates his life experiences within a constellation of seminal queer texts, among which this book is sure to earn its place.

    Eye-opening, intensely emotional, and excessively quotable, A History of My Brief Body demonstrates over and over again the power of words to both devastate and console us.

Hi there!

Two Dollar Radio is a family-run outfit founded in 2005 with the mission to reaffirm the cultural and artistic spirit of the publishing industry. We aim to do this by presenting bold works of literary merit, each book, individually and collectively, providing a sonic progression that we believe to be too loud to ignore. Check out the ABOUT US section to read more...

Radio Waves daily blog by Two Dollar Radio indie book publisher

Latest posts

  • On the Dial | Perfume Genius

    The first time I listened to Perfume Genius was in 2015, at his concert with Jenny Hval at the Wexner Center. My friend Ryan invited me. We met a few weeks prior and quickly became inseparable. I did, and still do,... Read more →

  • Q+A with Tariq Shah about his debut Whiteout Conditions

    On March 17 we are publishing Tariq Shah's debut novel, Whiteout Conditions. Whiteout Conditions follows Ant as he returns to a snowy Chicago after 5 years away from home. Ant is going with his childhood friend, Vince, to Vince's teenage cousin Ray's funeral. After losing... Read more →

  • Design of the Week | Prelude to Bruise by Saeed Jones

    Now that we have our own brick and mortar, we get to see a ton of different cover designs. One of my favorites that we have carried in the shop is Prelude to Bruise by Saeed Jones.  I love the... Read more →