Coming Soon - - Items tagged as "Creative nonfiction"

Frequencies Books too loud to ignore

Forthcoming books. Check out what Two Dollar Radio has coming up next!
Click on each title to view release dates, download a Reader Guide, read from a sneak peek, and more!

For booksellers, librarians, academics, reviewers, and for rights queries, please request an advance reading copy by using the "Click to request an ARC" button on each title's page, or go directly to the Contact form here.

  • A History of My Brief Body QUICK VIEW A History of My Brief Body a collection of essays by
    Billy-Ray Belcourt

    July 2020!

    "[Belcourt] ably balances poetic, philosophical, and political insights throughout this unique book... An urgently needed, unyielding book of theoretical and intimate strength."
    Kirkus Reviews, starred


    For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.

    Coming Soon!

    A History of My Brief Body

    a collection of essays by
    Billy-Ray Belcourt


    $ 9.99 $ 10.99
    View full product details →

    "In sharp pieces infused with a yearning for decolonized love and freedom, Belcourt, of the Driftpile Cree Nation, ably balances poetic, philosophical, and political insights throughout this unique book... An urgently needed, unyielding book of theoretical and intimate strength."
    Kirkus Reviews, starred review

    The youngest ever winner of the Griffin Prize mines his personal history in a brilliant new essay collection seeking to reconcile the world he was born into with the world that could be.

    For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.

    Billy-Ray Belcourt’s debut memoir opens with a tender letter to his kokum and memories of his early life in the hamlet of Joussard, Alberta, and on the Driftpile First Nation. Piece by piece, Billy-Ray’s writings invite us to unpack and explore the big and broken world he inhabits every day, in all its complexity and contradiction: a legacy of colonial violence and the joy that flourishes in spite of it; first loves and first loves lost; sexual exploration and intimacy; the act of writing as a survival instinct and a way to grieve. What emerges is not only a profound meditation on memory, gender, anger, shame, and ecstasy, but also the outline of a way forward. With startling honesty, and in a voice distinctly and assuredly his own, Belcourt situates his life experiences within a constellation of seminal queer texts, among which this book is sure to earn its place.

    Eye-opening, intensely emotional, and excessively quotable, A History of My Brief Body demonstrates over and over again the power of words to both devastate and console us.

  • Two Dollar Radio Guide to Vegan Cooking (PREORDER) QUICK VIEW Two Dollar Radio Guide to Vegan Cooking (PREORDER) a cookbook & essays by
    Jean Claude van Randy & Speed Dog

    September 2020!

    We are all explorers, vegan food explorers — join us on this culinary journey as we slay Vegan Hunger Demons.


    Imagine 'Parts Unknown with Anthony Bourdain.' But focused on hyping vegan food. Crossed with Scooby Doo. A vegan diet is trending and Two Dollar Radio Headquarters in Columbus, Ohio, has become a vegan food mecca thanks to celebrity chefs, Jean Claude van Randy and Speed Dog. Join them in this Guide as they craft delectable recipes, solve mysteries, and slay Vegan Hunger Demons. Coming Soon!

    Two Dollar Radio Guide to Vegan Cooking (PREORDER)

    a cookbook & essays by
    Jean Claude van Randy & Speed Dog


    $ 11.99 $ 14.99
    Format:  Paperback (PREORDER)
    View full product details →

    We are all explorers, vegan food explorers — join us on this culinary journey as we slay Vegan Hunger Demons.

    If you've searched online for a recipe, you've likely encountered a digressive treatise on family history or mundane childhood reflection, none of which actually has anything to do with how to make enchilada sauce. After extensive scrolling, you've really only uncovered that self-taught chef/blogger Linda needs to talk to a professional counselor about her relationship with her mother.<br><br>In this <i>Two Dollar Radio Guide to Vegan Cooking</i>, executive vegan chefs Jean Claude van Randy and Speed Dog unearth a fount of vegan cheffing knowledge. In addition to exquisite recipes and vegan life hacks, they, too, view food as a story: nary a meal is prepared without recalling when Speed Dog summited Goat Peak in Banff armed with nothing more than a sack full of cherry ring pops and a wily pack burro.<br><br>This Guide to Vegan Cooking is for you if: You're looking for satisfying vegan food; interested in a vegan diet but unwilling to give up cheese; accessible vegan recipes that don't require hard-to-find ingredients you have to google and can't pronounce; the adventurous tales behind the meals.

  • Two Dollar Radio Guide to Naming Your Baby (PREORDER) QUICK VIEW Two Dollar Radio Guide to Naming Your Baby (PREORDER) a humor collection by
    Travis Hoewischer

    November 2020!

    Unless your child is an '80s villain, we can all agree that Brad, Todd, and Brandi with an 'i' are all atrocious ideas. This Two Dollar Radio Guide will help you name your child by calling attention to those names you should probably definitely avoid.


    With Two Dollar Radio’s Guide to Naming Your Baby, you’ll find plenty of useful information—charts, graphs, potential career paths, projected family trees—to help you avoid blame when your full-grown Karen asks you why everyone asks her if she wants to see a manager. Your Karen is into horses, we know, but that’s why you should have gone with Millie.

    Coming Soon!

    Two Dollar Radio Guide to Naming Your Baby (PREORDER)

    a humor collection by
    Travis Hoewischer


    $ 11.99 $ 15.99
    Format:  Paperback (PREORDER)
    View full product details →

    Unless your child is an '80s villain, we can all agree that Brad, Todd, and Brandi with an 'i' are all atrocious ideas. This Two Dollar Radio Guide will help you name your child by calling attention to those names you should probably definitely avoid.

    Inside, you’ll find musings on all the worst monikers—even yours—which means you now have a new gift idea for your family members. Who needs 23 and Me, when rather than finding out if you’re 2.7 percent Welsh, you can get to the bottom of why your cousin Dale Henry is an 8-year-old girl with an overbite, and not a grizzled country and western singer.<br> Also inside: <li>Fiona: Ahh, yes, you like Disney. Who doesn’t? But there are no actual princesses, while many women grow up to become penpals with murderers and marry them in prison. You’re playing with fire. <li>Dylan: Can you still love your child if they grow up to send dick pics through LinkedIn? <li>Hailey: It’s hard to hear anyone say “I’m not racist, but…” especially when it’s a 14-year-old. Who wronged her? It was you.<br> In this ever-changing world, it’s hard to know how life is going to turn out for your new- or soon-to-be-born. You can’t keep them from getting their heart broken. And you won’t be able to shield every force of evil from them over the course of their whole life. You will, however, be able to avoid naming them Harley. You will need our help.

Hi there!

Two Dollar Radio is a family-run outfit founded in 2005 with the mission to reaffirm the cultural and artistic spirit of the publishing industry. We aim to do this by presenting bold works of literary merit, each book, individually and collectively, providing a sonic progression that we believe to be too loud to ignore. Check out the ABOUT US section to read more...

Radio Waves daily blog by Two Dollar Radio indie book publisher

Latest posts

  • Q+A with Dima Alzayat about Alligator and Other Stories

    We're excited to publish Alligator and Other Stories by Dima Alzayat on May 29, 2020. The award-winning stories in Dima Alzayat’s collection are luminous and tender, whether dealing with a woman performing burial rites for her brother in “Ghusl,” or a... Read more →

  • On the Dial | Perfume Genius

    The first time I listened to Perfume Genius was in 2015, at his concert with Jenny Hval at the Wexner Center. My friend Ryan invited me. We met a few weeks prior and quickly became inseparable. I did, and still do,... Read more →

  • Q+A with Tariq Shah about his debut Whiteout Conditions

    On March 17 we are publishing Tariq Shah's debut novel, Whiteout Conditions. Whiteout Conditions follows Ant as he returns to a snowy Chicago after 5 years away from home. Ant is going with his childhood friend, Vince, to Vince's teenage cousin Ray's funeral. After losing... Read more →