Front cover of The Drop Edge of Yonder by Rudolph Wurlitzer

1st Printing Features: Trade paper

The Drop Edge of Yonder

a novel by
Rudolph Wurlitzer

$ 11.25 $ 15.00
LIST PRICE: $15.00
PAGES: 275
PRINT ISBN: 978-0-9763895-5-2
DIGITAL ISBN: 978-0-9826848-1-8
RELEASE DATE: 4/1/2008
FOREIGN LANGUAGE: Christian Bourgois Editeur (French); Residenz Verlag (German)


*Time Out New York's #1 Best Book of 2008
*ForeWord Magazine Gold Medal for Literary Fiction

    "There's a bawdy, lunatic thrill to the tale that seems somehow radical. It's the kind of book someone will stick in a back pocket before heading out on the trail into the unknown."
    LA Weekly


    The Drop Edge of Yonder begins in the mountains of Colorado and ends in the far reaches of the Northwest, a journey that includes the beginnings of a Mexican revolution, a voyage across the Gulf of Mexico to Panama, and up the coast of California to San Francisco and the gold fields. Along the trail, Zebulon becomes involved in a series of tragic love triangles, witnesses the death of his mother and father, and confronts the age-old questions of life, love, and death.

    The Drop Edge of Yonder by Rudolph Wurlitzer =

    The Drop Edge of Yonder by Rudolph Wurlitzer = David Lynch + Nick Cave + Franz Kafka

    * In most cases, none of these writers endorse this book. Our math formulas are supposed to be amusing anecdotes, similar to shelf-talkers in bookstores that say "If you like X, you might enjoy Y," or "This Book is like Cormac McCarthy writing an episode of Saved by the Bell with a soundtrack by Philip Glass."


    "A picaresque American Book of the Dead... in the tradition of Thomas Pynchon, Joseph Heller, Kurt Vonnegut and Terry Southern."
    David Ulin, Los Angeles Times

    "[A] funny, inquisitive novel [that] asks readers to re-examine their ideas of the Western frontier and personal freedom."
    Wall Street Journal

    "Wurlitzer delivers a mystic Western possessed of anarchic charms and incantatory beauty. This furiously told legend weaves history and myth into a riotous tale."
    Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

    "The most hallucinogenic Western you'll ever catch in the movie house of your mind's eye. What results is a genre farce with oracular powera Queen of Hearts sutra, a court jester's Blood Meridian. With Drop Edge, Wurlitzer has considerably raised the stakes."

    "Drop Edge occupies a space between the whimsical and the mystical, the silly and the sublime. Wurlitzer’s philosophical, humorous, and visionary yarn guides the reader into a landscape in which to wander around and get lost, a West that leads into the numinous terra incognita between sleep and waking, life and death, and toward the contemplation of what it means to cross a frontier."
    LA CityBeat

    "In his hero, Zebulon Shook, Wurlitzer has invented a funny, acerbic, hugely compelling representative of American heroism. This is that rare story that improves as it expands, not unlike another rambling picaresque, Don Quixote."
    Washington City Paper

    "Wurlitzer's most satisfying read to date... should be as well known as anything by Cormac McCarthy, Steve Erickson, or Jim Harrison. A pure blast of vituoso storytelling. [Drop Edge] is a book that shows us our own reflection at this exact moment in our historyAmerica as a flailing, undomesticated, wild-eyed, hairy brawler, with a big, confused heart in rebellion against the coarse exigencies of existence and civilization."
    Barnes & Noble Review

    "An epic Western and a summation of all that's great about Wurlitzer's novels and film scripts... an old hand laying down what may well be the best piece of writing he's ever done."
    Arthur Magazine

    "Mesmerizing. A Western as Celine might have written one."
    Times Literary Supplement of London

    "The Drop Edge of Yonder, Wurlitzer's first novel in 24 years, is his best to date. It's the rare book that possesses not just big ideas, but the daring cleverness to pull them off."
    Time Out New York 

    "An epic Western that merges the unique narrative invention of [Wurlitzer's] early novels with the cinematic drift of his best scripts."
    Dazed & Confused

    "[A] psychedelic adventure... Ruminative and rip-roaring at once."
    Entertainment Weekly

    "[Wurlitzer's] vivid language has a poetic, almost magical, intensity. An atmospheric work that fuses the road novel and the Western. [A] Western [that] beautifully captures the glimmering maya of a gold-and-gun-and-sex-crazed frontier."
    The Brooklyn Rail 

    "Simply the most wonderful book I have read all year."
    Largehearted Boy

    "Wurlitzer opens up his cold-blooded prose veins with the blade of the Western genre, and something sinister and mystically unsettling gushes out."
    Baltimore City Paper


    Author Rudolph Wurlitzer

    Rudolph Wurlitzer is the author of the novels Nog, FlatsQuake, and Slow Fade, and a non-fiction book, Hard Travel to Sacred Places. He has written numerous screenplays, including Pat Garrett and Billy the KidTwo Lane Blacktop, and Walker. (

    For fans of

    • 2666
    • Alex Cox
    • Bob Dylan
    • Ernest Hemingway
    • Game of Thrones
    • Homo Faber
    • Max Frisch
    • Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid
    • Quentin Tarantino
    • Roberto Bolano
    • Sam Peckinpah
    • The Old Man and the Sea
    • The Savage Detectives
    • Volker Schlondorff

    Sneak Peek

    Coming soon!

    Radio Waves daily blog by Two Dollar Radio indie book publisher

    Latest posts

    • The Wire | All Over and Over

      I recently bought Tim Kinsella's All Over and Over (Featherproof 2015). The book is a collection of tour diaries from his extensive time on the road with his band, Make Believe (Joan of Arc), during the early/mid 2000s. Kinsella's reflective insight is... Read more →

    • On the Dial | The Midwest

      As we (Americans) approach the November election, the Midwest gets the spotlight once again. Only to shine again when they test the Triple Stacked Cheeto Big Mac before hitting markets world-wide. The Midwest is so uniquely forgettable and necessary. I recently read an essay... Read more →

    • The Death-Rattle of Culture | 10/21/16

      If you don't get it, we don't blame you. J.K. Rowling's Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them to be 5-Film Franchise.Until it becomes a 7-Film Franchise... Before it becomes a 10-Film Franchise... The Frankfurt Book Fair kicked off this... Read more →